Kotamo

Master of Improvisation

The Ko-ta-mo is a mix of three different instruments: koto, tambura and monochord. The monochord goes back to Pythagoras and is thus of European origin, the tambura is an Indian accompanying instrument and the koto is a Japanese melody instrument.

The way of playing is relatively simple. From the first moment you can lure very beautiful sounds from the instrument.

Of course, the kotamo can also be combined with classical instruments such as guitar or violin, which often creates completely new sound spaces and ideas.

Kotamo - Manufactory Meerklang

Sound

The monochord is on one side of the instrument, the koto and tambura on the other. When you run your fingers over the monochord side, where all the strings are tuned to one note, a sound develops which is at the same time very wide open and full of overtones and yet surprisingly deep. It’s fascinating to experience that although all the strings are tuned to one note, a whole spectrum of other notes (overtones) can be heard. On the acoustic level  through the monochord you experience that all tones are contained within one tone.

On the other string level is the tambura (4 strings) the koto with 18-22 strings depending on the width. The tambura is tuned to the same tone as the monochord and also has a string in fifth tuning. The four strings run over a “snare bridge” that creates the typical whirring and mystical sound that is also known from the Indian sitar. The strings of the koto can be tuned as desired using sliding wooden riders. This means you can experiment with very different scales and experience moods in the truest sense of the word. Diatonic, pentatonic, Indian or Japanese tunings can be set, just as you like. Or you can build the riders intuitively and find out what mood you are in at the moment.

Way of playing

The three instruments can be played at the same time, which makes a wonderful combined sound. You can play the root note with your left hand on the tambura and monochord and play a melody with your right hand on the koto. If you tune the koto so that all the notes harmonize with the root note, you can improvise freely without thinking at all.

Applications

  • Music therapy

  • Sound meditation

  • Improvisation

  • Overtone singing

  • Sound therapy

Kotamo

Klangwunder der Improvisation

Das Ko-ta-mo ist eine Mischung aus drei verschiedenen Instrumenten: Koto, Tambura und Monochord. Das Monochord geht auf Pythagoras zurück und ist somit also europäischer Herkunft, die Tambura ist ein indisches Begleitinstrument und die Koto ist ein japanisches Melodieinstrument.

Die Spielweise ist relativ einfach. Vom ersten Moment an lassen sich sehr schöne Klänge aus dem Instrument locken.

Natürlich kann man die Kotamo auch mit klassischen Instrumenten wie Gitarre oder Geige kombinieren, wodurch oftmals ganz neue Klangräume und Ideen entstehen.

Kotamo - Manufaktur Meerklang

Klangbild

Das Monochord befindet sich auf der einen Spielebene, Koto und Tambura auf der anderen. Streicht man mit den Fingern über die auf einen Ton gestimmte Saitenebene des Monochords, so entfaltet sich ein sehr weiter, obertonreicher und erstaunlich tiefgründiger Klang. Faszinierend  ist hierbei zu erleben, dass obwohl alle Saiten auf den gleichen Ton gestimmt sind, ein ganzes Spektrum anderer Töne (Obertöne) zu hören ist. Auf akustischer Ebene kann man durch den Monochordklang erleben, dass in einem Ton alle anderen enthalten sind.

Auf der anderen Saitenebene befindet sich die Tambura (4 Saiten) und die Koto mit je nach Breite 18-22 Saiten. Die Tambura ist auf den gleichen Ton wie das Monochord gestimmt und hat zusätzlich eine Saite in Quintstimmung.  Die vier Saiten laufen über einen „Schnarrsteg“, der den typischen sirrenden und mystischen Klang erzeugt, den man auch von der indischen Sitar kennt. Die Saiten der Koto sind mittels verschiebbarer Holzreiter beliebig stimmbar. So kann man mit ganz unterschiedlichen Tonleitern experimentieren und Stimmungen im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes erleben. Es lassen sich  diatonische, pentatonische, indische, oder japanische Stimmungen einstellen, ganz wie es einem beliebt. Oder man baut die Reiter intuitiv auf und erfährt dadurch, in welcher Stimmung man sich gerade befindet.